



ANGLOPHONE WEST SCHOOL DISTRICT DISTRICT EDUCATION COUNCIL Summerhill Street Elementary School Public Meeting Minutes Sustainability Study #2 March 16, 2024

Summerhill Street Elementary School and Gesner Street Elementary School

ASD-W District & School Staff Present: **Council Members Present:** Tanya Adams - Sub-district 1 David McTimoney, Superintendent Tanya Cloutier - Sub-district 4 Gina Dunnett, Director of Schools Ruth Eden - Sub-district 6 Paul MacIntosh, Director of Communications Janet Dean - Sub-district 8 Ed Hogan, Assistant Manager of Transportation for Oromocto Chris Harquail - Sub-district 10 Shannon Atherton, Principal, Summerhill Street Elementary School Jim Mills - Sub-district 11 Carol Clark-Caterini, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent & DEC Wallace Carr, Sub-district 12, Vice Chairperson Lori Grant, IT Technician Thomas Geburt - Sub-district 13, Chairperson Members of the Public **Council Member Regrets:** Candice Browse - Sub-district 3 Hon. Mary Wilson, Minister of Service New Brunswick Serena Bradford - Sub-district 5 16 Guests Michael Mazerolle - Sub-district 9 Mya McAllister - Student Representative David Perley - First Nations Councillor **Council Vacancies:** Sub-district 2 Sub-district 7

• Call to Order:

- Thomas Geburt, Chairperson, called the public meeting to order at <u>1:18 P.M.</u> The Chairperson welcomed guests to meeting #2 of the Sustainability Study for the Oromocto Elementary/Middle Schools and Burton Elementary School. Councillors were introduced and the sub-district that they represented was provided. Superintendent David McTimoney and district office staff in attendance were also introduced.
- A reminder was given of the next Sustainability Study meeting on Saturday, March 23rd at Ridgeview Middle School at 9:00 AM The outcome of this study will be shared at a special public meeting on Thursday, May 9th at Oromocto High School at 7:00 PM.
- It was noted that an Indigenous land acknowledgment statement was shared at the beginning of the day while at Hubard Elementary School and that this meeting was a continuation of that meeting.
- The Council and district office staff were provided a tour of Summerhill Street Elementary School by Principal Atherton prior to the meeting beginning.

Presentation:

- Ms. Erin Dyker presented A New Model for Oromocto Schools on behalf of the Parent School Support Committee's (PSSC) from Assiniboine Avenue Elementary School, Burton Elementary School, Gesner Street Elementary School, Harold Peterson Middle School, Hubbard Elementary School, Ridgeview Middle School, and Summerhill Street Elementary School. Various scenarios of school configurations were reviewed with scenario #1 (2 new Grade K-5 schools and 1 new Grade 6-8 school) or scenario #3 (3 new Grade K-8 schools) being the only viable options. Three K-8 schools is preferred. Ms. Dyker shared the committee's location recommendation being one school in the Town of Oromocto, one school in either Oromocto West or Rusagonsis/Wassis/Lincoln area and one school located in the community of Burton.
- The approximate time of the presentation was 15 minutes. Ms. Dyker's presentation will be added to the ASD-W website, under Sustainability Studies.

Questions:

- Councillor Carr asked if the expected school enrolment for all three new schools to be approximately 600 students. Ms. Dyker confirmed that was the expected enrolment size.
- Councillor Harquail inquired to know the location of Oromocto West. Ms. Dyker provided the boundaries for the Oromocto West area.
- Councillor Mills asked for clearer details on the 3rd school location recommendation. Ms. Dyker stated that the committee could not reach a consensus on the location, therefore Oromocto West or Rusagonsis/Wassis/Lincoln area was suggested.
- The Chairperson reminded the audience that all presentations will be saved on the website.
- Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at <u>1:36 P.M.</u>