



ANGLOPHONE WEST SCHOOL DISTRICT DISTRICT EDUCATION COUNCIL

Ridgeview Middle School Public Meeting Minutes Sustainability Study #2 March 23, 2024

Ridgeview Middle School and Harold Peterson Middle School

Council Members Present:

- Candice Browse, Sub-district 3
- Tanya Cloutier, Sub-district 4
- Serena Bradford, Sub-district 5
- Ruth Eden, Sub-district 6
- Jim Mills, Sub-district 11
- Wallace Carr, Sub-district 12, Vice Chairperson
- Thomas Geburt, Sub-district 13, Chairperson
- Mya McAllister, Student Representative

Council Member Regrets:

- Tanya Adams, Sub-district 1
- Janet Dean, Sub-district 8
- Chris Harquail, Sub-district 10
- Michael Mazerolle, Sub-district 9
- David Perley, First Nations Councillor

Council Vacancies:

- Sub-district 2
- Sub-district 7

ASD-W District & School Staff Present:

- David McTimoney, Superintendent
- Gina Dunnett, Director of Schools
- Paul MacIntosh, Director of Communications
- Amanda Piron, Principal, Ridgeview Middle School
- Angela Thomson, Vice Principal, Ridgeview Middle School
- Carol Clark-Caterini, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent & DEC
- Cameron Hovey, IT Technician

Members of the Public

- Hon. Mary Wilson, Minister of Service New Brunswick
- No other members if the public were present.

Call to Order:

- Thomas Geburt, Chairperson, called the public meeting to order at <u>9:02 A.M.</u> The Chairperson stated that this was the continuation of Sustainability Study meeting #2 for the Town of Oromocto Elementary/Middle Schools and Burton Elementary School. On March 16th, the first of Sustainability Study meeting #2 was held at the Hubbard Elementary School in the morning followed by an afternoon meeting at Summerhill Street Elementary School. During this time community members and Parent School Support Committees (PSSC) presented to the Council their recommendations for the future of the seven schools being studied.
- Chairperson Geburt began the meeting with a land acknowledgement on behalf of the District Education Council where he acknowledged that the land on which all Anglophone School District West schools, with the exception of one, is located on the traditional unceded and unsurrendered territory of Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet). This territory is covered by the Treaties of Peace and Friendship which the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet), Mi'kmaq, and Passamaquoddy peoples first signed with the British Crown in 1725. The treaties did not deal with the surrender of lands and resources but in fact recognized Wolastoqey (Maliseet), Mi'kmaq, and Passamaquoddy title and established the rules for what was to be an ongoing relationship between nations.
- Chairperson Geburt introduced Councillors, and district office and school staff in attendance. Chairperson Geburt also acknowledged Honourable Mary Wilson who was also in attendance.
- There were no community members, PSSC or media representatives in attendance.

Presentation

- There were no presentations or comments from those in attendance.

School Tour – Ridgeview Middle School

- Councillors and those in attendance were provided a school tour by the Principal and Vice Principal.

Questions:

- There were no questions asked by the Council.

· Adjournment: Ridgeview Middle School

- Chairperson Geburt reviewed the speciality rooms shown by Principal Piron and Vice Principal Thomson. With no presentations and guests in attendance, the meeting was adjourned at **10:15 AM**.

• School Tour: Burton Elementary School

- Councillors and district staff were provided a school tour by Principal Melanie Charlton.

School Tour: Harold Peterson Middle School

- Councillors and district staff toured the school.

• School Tour: Gesner Street Elementary School

- Councillors and district staff were provided a school tour by Principal Sheila Baker.

• School Tour: Assiniboine Avenue Elementary School

- Councillors and district staff were provided a school tour by Principal Lori Jones-Clark.

• School tours were completed at approximately **2:00 P.M.**